“The Impact of Artificial Intelligence on Teaching and Learning”

Last Wednesday, March 8th I attended a faculty panel at AUC “The Impact of Artificial Intelligence on Teaching and Learning”. The event started with a delightful activity guided by Dr. Maha Bali where she asked the audience to write How they felt about AI in one word. Surprisingly in my point of view, the biggest word is “Curious”, I think AI could be described as the future but how can a person feel curious about AI? I really enjoyed all the answers the panelists said in the event but the one that caught my attention was when Dr.Mario Hubert answered the question do we have the luxury of time to develop our skills to deal with AI by mentioning a nice story by the economist John Minard Keynes that he was saying 100 years ago that by the 20th century because of technology humans will have plenty of free time to enjoy life but Dr. Mario faced us with the truth that although all the technology in our life is there to make our life easier and faster w still get distracted by it more than we thought. Another part where it caught my attention was when one of the panelists mentioned that most of our technology affects us in long term in a very bad way like cars and esc causing global warming and that’s why we are taking things into consideration by setting up COP event, This made me think of what if AI is a new invention by a human that could really have a very bad impact on us and we just do not know yet and if yes why we are not stopping it and I actually asked the panelists this question and they answered me by a very logical convincing way. First it’s beneficial financially to multiple institutions, second that society is so complex that we can not predict how will it be in the future as there are a lot of factors that can change the outcome. Finally, I really enjoyed this event and it made me more interested in AI and want to keep up with the new things that consider AI is an important factor.

One response to ““The Impact of Artificial Intelligence on Teaching and Learning””

  1. Jana, I so admire you that you came and sat in the front and raised your hand to ask a question – that was very courageous in a room full of faculty, and I truly appreciate that you made that extra effort!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started